The Jimi Hendrix Experience - BBC Sessions 3LP Vinyl

  • Sale
  • Regular price $60.00

Special Features: Remastered. 180 gram vinyl. Three section gatefold cover. 8 page booklet.


Side One

  1. Foxey Lady
  2. Alexis Korner Introduction
  3. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window?
  4. Rhythm and Blues World Service
  5. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  6. Traveling With the Experience
  7. Driving South
  8. Fire

Side Two

  1. Little Miss Lover
  2. Catfish Blues
  3. Stone Free
  4. Love or Confusion
  5. Hound Dog

Side Three

  1. Hey Joe
  2. Killing Floor
  3. Manic Depression
  4. DRiving South
  5. Hear MU Train a Comin'

Side Four

  1. Purple Haze
  2. Radio One
  3. Wait Until Tomorrow
  4. Day Tripper
  5. Introducing the Experience
  6. Burning of the Midnight Lamp

Side Five

  1. Spanish Castle Magic
  2. A Brand New Sound
  3. Hey Joe
  4. Jammin'
  5. I Was Made to Love Her
  6. Hear My Train a Comin'

Side Six

  1. Foxey Lady
  2. Driving South
  3. A Happening for Lulu
  4. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  5. Lulu Introduction
  6. Hey Joe
  7. Sunshine of Your Love
  8. Burning of the Midnight Lamp (Bonus Track)

Release Date: November 16, 2010

Label: Music on Vinyl

Origin: The Netherlands

These are the recordings that Jimi Hendrix made for BBC radio in the late '60s. As such, they're loose, informal, and off-the-top-of-his-head improvisational fun. These versions of the hits "Foxey Lady," "Fire," two versions of "Purple Haze," and "Hey Joe" stay surprisingly close to the studio versions, but the tone of Hendrix's guitar on these is positively blistering and worth the price of admission alone. There's also a lot of blues on this two-disc collection, and Hendrix's versions of "Hoochie Coochie Man" (with Alexis Korner on slide guitar), "Catfish Blues," "Killing Floor," and "Hear My Train A-Comin'" find him in excellent form. But perhaps the best example of how loosely conceived these sessions were are the oddball covers that Hendrix tackles, including Stevie Wonder's "I Was Made to Love Her" (featuring Wonder on drums), Dylan's "Can You Please Crawl out Your Window?," The Beatles' "Day Tripper," and, in recognition of his immediate competition, Cream's "Sunshine of Your Love." No lo-fi bootleg tapes here (everything's from the original masters and gone over by Eddie Kramer), the music and sound are class-A all the way, making a worthwhile addition to anyone's Hendrix collection. - Cub Koda (All Music)