Five Horse Johnson - No. 6 Dance LP Vinyl (Color/180 gram)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $22.00

Special Feature: 180 gram color vinyl.


Side One

  1. Mississiooi King
  2. Spillin' Fire
  3. Silver
  4. Gods of Demolition
  5. Shine Around

Side Two

  1. It Ain't Easy
  2. Hollerin'
  3. Lollipop
  4. Swallow the World
  5. Buzzard Luck

Release Date: January 2013

Label: Small Stone Records

Origin: USA

They don't make them like this too often anymore. No. 6 Dance is American rock & roll from the heartland with Five Horse Johnson hopping a freight train and riding the rails from rootsy blues to acid rock to '70s guitar-band heaviness. The album takes Led Zeppelin's brand of psychedelic stoner tunes and puts them in a stars-and-stripes T-shirt. "Mississippi King" is a catchy jam that would have suited Skynyrd just fine. "Spillin' Fire" takes the old school harmonica blues and rocks out with them, and "It Ain't Easy" makes for a sweet, Southern, sun-drenched cover. "Gods of Demolition," the title that best befits Five Horse Johnson, showcases Brad Coffin's demon guitar and Eric Oblander's desert rocking, Kyuss-esque vocals. But the best song on the disc has got to be "Shine Around," a groovy, circular, Black Crowes-style jam with a singalong chorus -- a tune worthy of the smokiest middle-American teen bedrooms circa 1973. - Charles Spano (