Floor - Oblation LP Vinyl (Clear/Import)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $30.00

Special Features: Limited to 200. Transparent clear vinyl.  Gatefold cover.


  1. Oblation
  2. Rocinante
  3. Trick Scene
  4. Find Away
  5. The Key
  6. New Man
  7. Sister Sophia
  8. The Quill
  9. Love Comes Crushing
  10. War Party
  11. Homegoings and Transitions
  12. Sign of Aeth
  13. Raised to a Star
  14. Forever Still

Release Date: April 25, 2014

Label: Season of Mist

Origin: France

Oblation sounds like it was recorded deep in Death Valley, the band standing in jeans and black tee-shirts, eyes screwed up in the unrelenting white heat of the sun. It reeks of clouds of sweet smoke blowing green and hazy. It hums as if it is powered by broken generators patched together with duct tape. It feels like classic Sabbaff lying on their backs with Kyuss next to a crackling fire as they stare at the never ending stars above them.

This is Stoner Rock at its most effective, stumbling through a landscape of huge riffs and massive pounding drums. You can feel the heat bearing down on you and the sweat dotting the broken ground moments before it evaporates. The vocal is a smooth full whine that sits on top of the huge noise of the rest of the band. Not a classic rock voice but a powerful, emotive cry.

It’s loose and organic; the sound breathes and has space to grow. They don’t lapse into lazy stoner riffs and slackness; this is more spacious and spaced out than buried under a metal sludge. The record is very much a stoner, desert rock opus. The music is in the main slow and immensely heavy, but does speed up in ‘Rocinante’. The music chugs and throbs, and throws a few curveballs, the end of ‘Love Comes Crushing’ gets a thrash punk battering. The most important thing though is the hardness of the album. Slow or fast, every groove is as hard as rusty nails. You could fire bullets at the sound and they would just bounce back.

As a record on its own this is just excellent, the fact that it is in essence a comeback album is incredible. This stands alongside anything Floor released before they split and that is high praise indeed. - Adrian Bloxham (Louder Than War June 24, 2010)