Joy - Under the Spell of Joy CD

  • Sale
  • Regular price $17.00

Special Features: Guest appearances by Nik Turner (Hawkwind) and Parker Griggs (Radio Moscow).


  1. Under the Spell
  2. Miles Away
  3. Confusion
  4. Evil
  5. One More Time
  6. Driving Me Insane
  7. Death Hymn Blues
  8. Back to the Sun

Release Date: August 19, 2014

Label: Tee Pee Records

Origin: USA

Joy take the primitive blues-based amp-destroying sound of Blue Cheer and launch it into space. It even sounds loud when you have the volume turned down. You’ll get plenty of lead heavy riffs on here, but then guitarist Zach Oakley will tear into one of his many solos and the band launches itself skyward. Plus, they have Nik Turner of Hawkwind making a guest appearance on this album, along with Parker Griggs of Radio Moscow, and Brian Ellis of nu-proggers Astra, all the adding to the joyful noise.

“Miles Away,” which is the first proper track on the album, opens with a monstrous riff and some tinkling of the keys, which leads to some six-string sorcery from Oakley. “Evil” traffics in some heavy primitive blues rock with some extra-shred added for emphasis. “One More Time” starts urgent and aggressive before breaking down for a flute and keyboard respite and then revving it back up for a big finish.

Speaking of big finishes, album closer “Back To The Sun,” which features the aforementioned Griggs sharing licks with Oakley, is a white-hot explosion of fuzz and solos that sizzle as hot the heavenly body mentioned in its title. It ends the album in the stratosphere.

This album shows the band, which also includes bassist Justin Hulson and drummer Paul Marrone, firing on all cylinders and laying down a hefty dose of psychedelic hard rock action. It will appeal to all hardened space warriors, as well as new recruits to the cause. - Thomas Pizzola (Verbicide