Radio Moscow - Radio Moscow LP Vinyl

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00

Special Features: Green vinyl.


Side A

  1. Introduction
  2. Frustrating Sound
  3. Lucky Dutch
  4. Lick Skillet
  5. Mistreating Queen

Side B

  1. Whatever Happened
  2. Timebomb
  3. Deep Blue Sea
  4. Ordovician Fauna
  5. Fuse

Release Date:

Label: Alive Records

Origin: USA

Although some describe them as "psychedelic blues rock," the Ames, IA, duo Radio Moscow is more of a throwback to the classic rock of the '70s. Their story is a true "being in the right place at the right time" tale, as the band's singer/guitarist/drummer, Parker Griggs, managed to get a demo tape into the hands of The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach after a gig. Auerbach liked the demo so much, he invited Griggs and bassist Luke McDuff to his home studio in Akron, OH, and produced their 2007 self-titled debut. The end result calls on several recognizable hits/bands of yesteryear. Highlights include "Lucky Dutch," which contains a beefy riff that's reminiscent of Ram Jam's "Black Betty," and "Lickskillet" begins as an acoustic blues ditty, before transforming into an Allman ABrothers-esque dual-guitar fest (complete with slide guitar), while both "Mistreating Queen" and "Whatever Happened" are muscular riff rock à la The Jeff Beck Group. - Greg Prato (